Latest News

4 IEBC Commissioners Reject Election Results With William Ruto as Winner

IEBC commissioners who disputed the presidential election led by Vice Chairperson Juliana Cherera PHOTO/COURTESY

A section of Independent Electoral and Boundaries Commissioners (IEBC) commissioners have disputed the outcome of the presidential election.

The four commissioners led by Vice Chairperson Juliana Cherera maintained that they could not take ownership of the election results.

They argued that the final process of verification of the result was not transparent hence their resistance.

The other commissioners are Francis Wanderi, Justus Nyangaya and Irene Masit.

“We are not at the Bomas of Kenya because we cannot take ownership of the results that are going to be announced because of the opaque nature which these results have been handled,” Cherera stated.

She, however, stated that the IEBC conducted an election that was free, fair and verifiable except for the final process.

William Samoei Ruto of the Kenya Kwanza Alliance has been declared the president elect of the republic of Kenya.

Ruto who contested for the country’s top seat under a United Democratic Alliance (UDA) party ticket was declared winner of the presidential election on Monday, August 15.

He was handed the election certificate by the Independent Electoral and Boundaries Commission (IEBC) Chairman Wafula Chebukati at the Bomas of Kenya.

Ruto emerged victorious after garnering 7,176,141 votes; 50.49 per cent of the total votes cast.

READ ALSO: Raila’s Chief Agent Rejects Election Results, Cites Hacking of IEBC System

On the other hand, Azimio La Umoja presidential candidate Raila Odinga got 6,942,930 which is 48.88 per cent of the total votes cast.

Do you have a story you would like us to publish? Please reach us through [email protected] or call/SMS +254 731 469269

Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Most Popular

To Top
error: Content is protected !!