Latest News

LIST: 54 Lawyers To Defend William Ruto’s Election Win

dp ruto

Kenya Kwanza coalition has unveiled a team of lawyers and other professionals that will represent the coalition in the presidential petition before the Supreme Court.

The team which comprises of 54 lawyers and five technical members was unveiled on Friday, August 26 when the coalition filed its submissions to the petitions.

The battery of lawyers will be led by Senior Counsels Fred Ngatia, Kioko Kilulumi and Kiragu Kimani.

Others are Prof Kithure Kindiki, Katwa Kigen, Dr. Linda Musumba, Dr. Muthomi Thiankolu, Prof Kivutha Kibwana, Elias Mutuma, Omwanza Ombati, Melissa Ngania and Samwel Chepkonga.

Lawyers Ababu Namwamba, Edward Muriu, Wilfred Nyamu Mati, Kipchumba Murkomen, Benson Milimo, Hillary Sigei, Caroline Jerono, Chris Ayieko, Lilian Wanjiku Nyaga, Hanan Hassan El-Kathiri, Collins Kiprono, Henry Paul Gichana and Monica Nyuguto are also on the list.


Senior Counsel Fred Ngatia PHOTO/COURTESY

Other lawyers who will represent Kenya Kwanza in the petition are lan Chelal, Nthatu Ntoogo, Ummi Bashir, Dr. Korir Sing’oei, Dr. Duncan Ojwang, Adrian Kamotho, WinRose Njuguna, Soipan Tuya, Gladys Shollei, Nais Rab Ambani, Logan Christie, Jane Muhia, Emmanuel Kibet, Rosemary Wanjiku, Charles Nganga, Mbugua Nganga, Alex Wamalwa, Mannaseh Tunneh and Andrew Simiyu.

Also on the list are Joseph Anjehi, Jared Mugendi, Githae Mumbura, Ham Lagat, Dr. Seth Wekesa, Kithinji Marete, Paul Musyimi, Kiprop Rutto Marimoi, Peter Lagat and Kevin Michuki.

The coalition will also be represent by a number of ICT professionals namely Raymond Bett, Edmond Kiprotich, Geoffrey Rono and Geofrey Koech.

A statistician, Duncan Kichamu, is also part of the team sent to the Supreme Court.

In the petition where IEBC commissioners and President-elect William Ruto were listed as respondents, Raila wants access to KIEMS kits used in the election.

The former Prime Minister also wants IEBC to avail all materials including electronic documents, devises and equipment for presidential election within two days.

Raila also wants Chebukati to declare that Ruto committed election irregularities during election and the Court to declare that Chebukati committed election irregularities during elections and be prosecuted.

READ ALSO: Carolyne Waithera: John De Matthew’s Wife Explains Why Singer’s Body Risks Exhumation

Ruto was declared president after garnering 7,176,141 votes; 50.49 per cent of the total votes cast.

Raila was seconded with 6,942,930 which is 48.88 per cent of the total votes cast.

Do you have a story you would like us to publish? Please reach us through [email protected] or call/SMS +254 731 469269

Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Most Popular

To Top
error: Content is protected !!