Latest News

No Major Issues As Scrutiny of 45 Ballot Boxes Nears Completion

Ballot boxes arriving for recounting and scrutiny at Forodha House in Nairobi PHOTO/COURTESY

Nine ballot boxes which were on Wednesday, August 31 opened, scrutinised and votes recounted has no discrepancies.

Scrutiny and recounting of the nine out of 45 ballot boxes was ordered by the Supreme Court and the exercise was led by the registrar of the Supreme Court, Letizia Wachira, and her staff.

The inspection of the ballot boxes was done in the presence of Independent Electoral and Boundaries Commission (IEBC) agents, those of Azimio la Umoja and Kenya Kwanza coalitions.

Following the recount, the numbers matched with what was in the Form 34A and the declaration forms by the Independent Electoral and Boundaries Commission (IEBC).


Ballot boxes delivered for recounting of votes PHOTO/COURTESY

However, some issues were discovered during the exercise such as lack of stamps, missing physical voters’ registers, failure to fill Form 34A and failure to seal rejected ballot papers.

For instance, the ballot box for Stream 1 of Majengo polling station in Mvita had no Form 34A.

At the same polling station, the Form 34A for Stream 2 blank and not stamped while Stream 5 of Mvita Primary School, the ballot box had two Forms 34A.

One of the two forms was signed by the presiding officer, the deputy presiding officer and agents of ODM, UDA, Kanu and PAA.

The second Form 34A was unsigned.

In Stream 4 of Mvita Primary School, the governor’s declaration result form was found in the presidential election materials.

By the time of publishing, 40 out of 41 ballot boxes had been scrutinized and recounted and the numbers matched with those on the IEBC portal.

Ballot boxes which were also recounted are those from Nandi Hills and Sinendeti primary schools in Nandi County, Belgut, Kapsuser and Chepkutum primary schools in Kericho County, and those of Jomvu, Mikindani and Ministry of Water Tanks polling stations in Mombasa County.

READ ALSO: (Video) Uhuru Interacts with Mombasa Residents after Lunch with Azimio Leaders

Others are Mvita, Majengo and Mvita primary schools in Mombasa County; Tinderet Conmo, in Nandi County together with Jarok, Gathanji and Kiheo primary schools in Nyandarua County.

Do you have a story you would like us to publish? Please reach us through or call/SMS +254 731 469269

Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

Most Popular

To Top