Latest News

Waiguru’s fate now in hands of 11-member Senate committee

The Senate on Tuesday, June 16 voted to support the formation of a select committee to investigate accusations leveled against Kirinyaga Governor Anne Waiguru in the impeachment motion against her.

An 11-member committee will decide the fate of embattled Kirinyaga Governor Anne Waiguru.

45 senators voted in support of the committee after a heated debate which again exposed the divisions in the ruling Jubilee Party.

READ ALSO: List of 11 senators proposed to hear Waiguru’s impeachment motion

One senator abstained from voting while 14 voted to have the matter decided in the plenary as it was with former Kiambu governor Ferdinand Waititu.

Speaker Ken Lusaka directed the committee to hit the ground running and deliver a report within 10 days.

The voting yet again exposed the deep fault lines within Jubilee with Kieleweke and ODM MPs supporting the formation of the committee while DP William Ruto allied Tanga Tanga faction rooting for plenary.

Writing on Twitter, Elgeyo Marakwet Senator Kipchumba Murkomen who also rooted for plenary, said Senate had sanitised Waiguru.

“Senate has sanitized and cleared the Governor of Kirinyaga. It’s done. Don’t wait for the Committee’s decision. To the people of Kirinyaga I am sorry we did our best but It is finished. Your fight for accountability has been frustrated by Senate. Don’t give up use other avenues,” said Murkomen.

During the debate that preceded the voting, Senator Orengo painted a picture of wire-pulling by ‘strong forces’ other than the Kirinyaga County Assembly.

READ ALSO: Gregory Dow: US missionary pleads guilty to sexually assaulting underage girls in Kenya orphanage

“This Senate should never be in a position where there is a dictation on how we handle our business. This is a very important institution.

“Today, some people have done so well, they’re not looking for justice, they’re looking for somebody’s head.

“Waiguru’s head is being asked for not by the County Assembly. I can tell you, and I have the evidence. The people who are looking for Waiguru’s head is not the County Assembly,” he stated.

Members who will serve in the 11-member committee include Abshiro Halake, Michael Mbito (Trans-Nzoia), Mwangi Paul Githiomi (Nyandarua), Beth Mugo, Anuar Loitiptip (Lamu),

Others are Philip Mpaayei (Kajiado), Cleophas Malalah (Kakamega), Beatrice Kwamboka (Nominated), Stewart Madzayo (Kilifi), Judith Pareno (Nominated), and Moses Kajwang’ (Homa Bay).

Waiguru was impeached by Kirinyaga County Assembly members who accused her of gross misconduct, abuse of office and manipulating the public procurement procedures.

Do you have a story you would like us to publish? Please reach us through or call/SMS +254 731 469269

Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Most Popular

To Top
error: Content is protected !!