Latest News

Here’s how senators voted in Kithure Kindiki’s ouster

The rift in the ruling Jubilee Party continues to increase by the day after 54 senators drawn from President Uhuru Kenyatta and Opposition leader Raila Odinga camps ganged up to oust Senator Kithure Kindiki as Senate Deputy Speaker.

Kindiki, a staunch Deputy President William Ruto ally was ousted on Friday, May 22 after a heated debate that saw 54 out of 67 Senators championing for his removal over being disloyal and disrespecting his party leader; Uhuru Kenyatta.

READ ALSO: Kindiki fires to last breath as senators oust him as deputy speaker

“I have come to accept that politics is very dirty… your goose is cooked. The best you can do is to leave and fight another day,” said Narok Senator Ledama ole Kina who was recently de-whipped as chairman of Public Accounts Committee said.

However, only seven senators namely; Nderitu John Kinyua, Kipchumba Murkomen, Susan Kihika, Samson Cherargei, Aaron Cheruiyot, Lang’at Christopher Andrew and Mithika Linturi and voted against the motion to ouster Kindiki.

“We do not need to defend ourselves before you in this matter… If we are thrown into the blazing furnace, the God we serve is able to deliver us from it and He will deliver us,” said former Leader of Majority Kipchumba Murkomen.

On her side, Nakuru Senator Susan Kihika said;

“Whoever they may be, two or four, the Senate is propagating the axis of evil. It calls into question the independence of the House. This is dictatorship.”

READ ALSO: Murkomen blocks Poghisio on Twitter

Senators Moses Wetangula, Beth Mugo and Njeru Ndwiga voted YES in absentia.

Do you have a story you would like us to publish? Please reach us through [email protected] or call/SMS +254 731 469269

Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Most Popular

To Top
error: Content is protected !!