Kakamega Primary School has released the names of 14 pupils who died in the deadly stampede on the evening of Monday, February 3.

It has now emerged one of the victims – Grade Four pupil Naila Kiverenge – was laid to rest Wednesday afternoon.


Funeral arrangements for the rest of the 13 victims are going on with the help of a team formed by Governor Wycliffe Oparanya.

The national and county governments have pledged to support the bereaved families to give the pupils a decent and befitting send-off.

By the same scale, counseling services are being offered to the families and the school.

Yesterday, Education CS ordered the school to be closed to allow for investigations into the tragic incidence that has rekindled discussions about the safety of children in school.

At least eight pupils are still receiving treatment at the Kakamega Referral Hospital, Nation reported.

Here is the full list of the victims whose bodies were identified by relatives at the Kakamega County Referral Hospital mortuary:

1. Antonnet Iramwenya – 5V

2. Prudence Eliza – 5V

3. Catherine Aloo – 5W

4. Naila Kiverenge – 4G

5. Prince Vermaline – 4G

6. Nichole Achola – 5P

7. Venessa Adesa – 5P

8. Fidel Kumbetie – 5P

9. Simon Waweru – 4G

10. Samuel Simekha – 5V

11. Lavenda Akasa – 5P

12. June Nakhumicha – 4G

Do you have a story you would like us to publish? Please reach us through or call/SMS +254 731 469269