Latest News

List of 30 Political Parties that Have Signed Pact To Join UhuRaila’s Azimio la Umoja

ODM leader Raila Odinga’s presidential bid has received a significant boost after a total of 30 political parties signed an agreement to join the Azimio la Umoja Coalition.

The outfits appended their signatures during the coalition’s national delegates’ conference held at Kenyatta International Conference Centre (KICC). 

In the Saturday, March 12, event which was presided by President Uhuru Kenyatta and Raila, the over 300 delegates unanimously endorsed the former premier for president under Azimio.

Notably in attendance were Machakos Governor Alfred Mutua, Laikipia Governor Nderitu Mureithi, Kivutha Kibwana of Makueni, Wycliffe Oparanya heading Kakamega, Anyang Nyong’o of Kisumu among others.

Conspicuously missing was the Narc Kenya leader Martha Karua who is also deemed to have joined Azimio after signing a coalition deal through the One Kenya Alliance (OKA).

Azimio la Umoja NDC at KICC . PHOTO: COURTESY.

The parties that signed an agreement to pact with Azimio La Umoja include:

These are the parties that have joined Azimio;

1. Jubilee Party led by Uhuru

2. Orange Democratic Movement (ODM) led by Raila.

3. Wiper Party led by Kalonzo Musyoka

4. Kenya African National Union (KANU) led by Gideon Moi

5. National Rainbow Coalition led by Charity Ngilu

6. Democratic Action Party of Kenya (DAP-K) led by Wafula Wamunyinyi

7. Maendeleo Chap Chap led by Alfred Mutua

8. The Party of National Unity (PNU)

10.  United Democratic Movement (UDM) 

11. The Muungano Party (MP) led by Kibwana

12. Devolution Empowerment Party

13. Democratic Party (DP)

14. United Democratic Party

15. Kenya United Party (KUP) 

16. Farmers Party

17. UPIA led by CS Ukur Yattani 

18. Pamoja African Alliance (PAA)

19. Ubuntu Party led by Nakuru governor Lee Kinyanjui 

20. National Reconstruction Alliance (NRA) 

21. Kenya National Congress (KNC)

22. United Progressive Alliance

23. National Liberal Party

24. Kenya Social Congress

25. Movement for Democracy and Growth (MDG)

26. The People’s Trust Party

27. Kenya Reform Party 

28. National Agenda Party of Kenya

29. Party of Growth and Prosperity 

30. Chama Cha Uzalendo (CCU)

Raila will be making his fifth stab at the presidency in the August 9 poll.

He will be battling to succeed Uhuru with his arch political rival Deputy President William Ruto, George Wajackoyah, Reuben Kigame and Justin Muturi.

Do you have a story you would like us to publish? Please reach us through or call/SMS +254 731 469269

Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

Most Popular

To Top